Any person with a registered motor vehicle must notify the DMV within 48 hours of any change of address in accordance with C.G.S. Sec. 14–17a.
Motor vehicles registered out of state must be registered within 60 days of residency in the State of Connecticut, according to CGS 14–12a. Residents who fail to register their vehicles are subject to an estimate of tax. If you are a resident of another state, your vehicle should not be frequently in the Town of East Haven with out of state registration. The Assessor’s Office will report violators to the East Haven Police and the Department of Motor Vehicles.
MOTOR VEHICLE TAX BILLS
If you transferred your plates to a new vehicle, you are not entitled to an adjustment. In essence, the bill follows the license plate. The original bill for the old vehicle should be paid in full. A supplemental list will then generate a bill for the new vehicle with a credit (exemption) for the period that the old vehicle was no longer owned.
CT Department of Motor Vehicle does not inform Towns when plates are returned or when vehicles are sold, registered out of State or otherwise disposed of. It is the taxpayer’s responsibility to provide the required documentation within the time limits as provided under applicable CT law.
REQUIRED FORMS OF PROOF FOR MOTOR VEHICLE ADJUSTMENTS
- PLATE RECEIPT from the DMV indicating that the registration has been CANCELLED, LOST or STOLEN is REQUIRED plus
- Any one of the following:
- A copy of the bill of sale - (Located on the bottom of the registration).
- A copy of the transfer of title - (Signed).
- Out of State registration - (Date the vehicle was registered outside the State of Connecticut).
- Stolen Vehicle – A statement from the insurance company indicating that the vehicle was stolen & NOT RECOVERED.
- Totaled Vehicle – A statement from the insurance company indicating that the vehicle was a total loss.
- Junked Vehicle – A notarized receipt from the junkyard.
- Trade-in Vehicle – A copy of a purchase agreement.
DEADLINE FOR PRESENTATION OF PROOF FOR ADJUSTMENT
Taxpayer failure to provide all forms of proof for adjustment within the 27 months of the assessment date forfeits the right to an adjustment of the bill by CT law (12-71c.)
PLEASE NOTE: UNREGISTERED VEHICLES IN YOUR POSSESSION AND VEHICLES REGISTERED IN OTHER STATES BUT LOCATED IN CONNECTICUT FOR THREE MONTHS ARE TAXABLE & MUST BE DECLARED AS PERSONAL PROPERTY ANNUALLY. FAILURE TO DECLARE MAY SUBJECT YOU TO PENALTIES & MULTIPLE YEARS ASSESSMENT.
VEHICLE ASSESSMENT APPEALS
FAILURE TO RECEIVE A MOTOR VEHICLE TAX BILL DOES NOT INVALIDATE THE BILL OR ANY ACCRUED INTEREST!